It just keeps on coming!

Back when I was a child, I remember watching an old horror movie called, “It’s Them!” In the movie, giant ants (???) have taken over the sewers in a city, and they wander around terrorizing and eating people. And… well, I can’t remember all that much of the movie, if that explains how much of an impact it had on me…

But anyway, to the point… people were saying in their houses, closing their curtains, and staying out of the streets to stay away from these giant house-sized ants. I’ve… felt caged up much the same way these last couple days.

It has been raining. And raining. And raining. And raining some more. For some people, this is common. In Texas, getting 4.5 inches of rain in a 12 hour period is highly unusual. And it’s just… odd! It’s not some comforting steady rain. It’s like someone is turning the faucet from the heavens on and off at their whim. We will have an hour or so of peace, and then all of a sudden (not starting gradually – just BOOM) it is pouring down rain and thundering and lightening-uhm-ing? All of a sudden it’s a huge giant storm, and then just as suddenly, it all stops abruptly again.

I haven’t seen sunlight in a few days, and my dogs were sincerely determined not to poo this morning. They just stood there, staring at me getting pelted by the rain while they got pelted by the rain. I gave up and ran inside when the hail started. I don’t like getting pelted by hail, and neither do the dogs. The result for me was soaked clothes and cold feet. As for them… they laid down and took a nap.

Anyway. It’s raining. A lot. It’s supposed to KEEP raining for two more days. It ought to be interesting… our streets are already flooded, and there are a few leaks in our house.

Yay rain?

Leave a Reply

