Food? Yes – Food!

I have a confession to make. I really, really, really love food. With that confession said and out in the open, I really am glad that I don’t gain as much weight as I probably should!

In the movie Ratatouille, the food critic says, “I don’t LIKE food. I LOVE it. If I don’t love it, I don’t SWALLOW.” This is me, except for the fact that… well, I suppose I always swallow.

I find, however, that the food I like the most… is also the most simple and easy to make. Sometimes it takes a lot of ingredients, but it usually doesn’t take long. While this isn’t a blog about food, I can at least make an entry about food. (No, I do not promise that all of this food is healthy – but in my opinion, it’s quite yummy!) So, for the sake of food lovers, unite! Maybe you could even share some of your favorite foods with me.

World’s Best Sandwiches


I’ll be honest – I’d almost forgotten about these until my husband suggested them last week. These are sandwiches that, if put on regular bread, fall completely apart! This last time, I put them on a Hawaiian sweet bun, and they were just perfect. Not too much sweet, the bread was moist, but firm enough to hold the thing together.Anyway – the following is contained in this sandwich… in this order:

Top Bun

Mayo + Mustard (I actually prefer Miracle Whip)

Salami

American Cheese – sliced thickly

Ham

Turkey

Avacado

Lettuce

Pickle (Hubby prefers Dill, I prefer Bread and Butter)

Tomato

Mayo + Mustard

Bottom Bun

This actually makes for one PACKED sandwich. As you can probably tell, I lean toward sweet – Miracle Whip instead of Mayo, and Bread and Butter pickles instead of Dill. My sandwich, when put together with the right amount of Miracle Whip and Mustard, actually tastes creamy. Oh man, it is so, so, so good. Now, yes, I do realize that not everyone would like everything on this sandwich – pick and change as you’d feel necessary. However, on a far too hot day in summer, this sandwich is one of my favorite meals.

I serve it with chips.

Super Easy Eggrolls

When I mean super easy, I mean SUPER easy. Brown some ground beef, add in some Beef Rice-A-Roni (cooked) and corn (optional), then mix. Put in an eggroll wrapper, wrap closed, keep closed with water (just like wrapping any regular eggroll) – fry. DONE. No fear of things inside not cooking well enough, because it’s already been cooked before it goes in. All you have to worry about is making sure the eggroll wrapper is cooked all the way through.

My kids LOVE these, and they are actually full of flavor. To be honest, I don’t serve these with any extras – I usually end up making about 20, and they all go in one sitting.

Burritos

Man, are these versatile! You can fix up a few ingredients, then fix them for each individual’s likes and dislikes. It’s absolutely amazing. I make upĀ  and/or take out the following:

ground beef made with taco seasoning and onions, refried beans, lettuce, tomato, cheese (two kinds usually), sour cream, flour tortillas.

From there, you can make… bean and cheese, ground beef with sour cream, or you could throw everything on there (that’s what I do). Oh, yes, and don’t forget to warm the tortillas. YUM!

Southwestern Quesodillas

Yes, yes, I know this sounds rather redundant, as Quesodillas ARE Southwestern – however, this makes them totally rock!

There is a “fiesta mix” of cheese that includes four different kinds of cheese, including asado. I absolutely love this cheese, and it is amazing on quesodillas, or “dillas” as my children call them. Sam’s sells some canned chicken – kind of like tuna, but not – and we use it on this dish (though any kind of chicken would work). I throw the tortilla in the pan, throw on a layer of cheese, a layer of chicken, and then a layer of Black Bean and Corn salsa before one more layer of cheese, and then the top tortilla. (The tortillas have butter on the outside, of course. I swear it’s to prevent sticking – at least, if a health nut asks, that’s the story I’m sticking to!)

This dish is tall, slippery, and incredibly nummy. After taking it off the heat (I use a griddle and a very large spatula for flipping), it sits a minute or two to cool before being cut into four pieces, then served with a dollop of sour cream for dipping.

Now, these aren’t the only great dishes I’ve stumbled upon, they’re just some of my favorites. Most of them do, admittedly, take a little time – but it is so worth it at the end! And the time necessary is nothing like what it would take to make a more complicated sort of meal.

Now – I don’t have a lot of readers, but there are a few. If you try one of these dishes, let me know what you think! If you have some other great dishes that aren’t super-chef complicated – let me know! As I’ve said, I absolutely love food, so… I’ll gladly try them out! (As long as they don’t have any strange ingredients – living in the middle of nowhere does have its disadvantages.)

2 thoughts on “Food? Yes – Food!

  1. Your description of and recipe for the sandwich is making me drool. Yum!

    Here’s my super-simple recipe: Hawaiian Chicken! It takes maybe an hour all up, but most of that is slow-cooking. Here’s what I do…

    -take two to three chicken breasts, cut into bite-sized pieces
    -chop 2-6 cloves of garlic finely, depending on taste

    Then, get a large pan, and add the following:
    -1/2 cup soy sauce
    -1/2 cup water
    -1/2 cup sugar
    – a couple tablespoons of vegetable oil
    – 1/8 to 1/4 teaspoon of powdered ginger (the original recipe calls for a 1/2″ piece of raw ginger, minced, but I never have raw ginger around – it may be better that way, I dunno!)
    – chopped garlic

    Heat the mixture and stir until sugar has dissolved, then add the chicken. Cook on low heat (the sauce should have a constant, slow simmer), turning/stirring every so often (10-15 minutes) until chicken is cooked through and tender, about 35 to 45 minutes cooking total. Serve over rice — we like jasmine best. Nom!

Leave a Reply

